Home Premium Courses Blog HTML Cheat Sheet Login

Stop the madness! Prevent records from being deleted in Quick Base

Subscribe on YouTube

We've all been there, we or someone we work with has permanently deleted data that should have been kept. Then we spend hours recreating the data, finding out who deleted it, or hoping no one will notice. In this video, you'll learn that it's possible to allow users to delete records, without actually deleting them.

You may be in need of some role controls if you answer yes to any of the following:

  • Have you discovered "gaps" in your records?
  • Have you spent hours recreating deleted records?
  • Have you pleaded with your users to not delete records?

In this video, I'll show you how to prevent the dreaded accidental delete. There are three things that it will cover:

  1. Identify who should have delete privileges
  2. Adjust Role settings
  3. Create a faux delete (optional)

Who's ready to save some records from the trash!

RESOURCES:

Delete button URL formula code

URLRoot() & "db/" & Dbid() & "?a=API_EditRecord&rid=" & [Record ID#] & "&_fid_24=1&rdr="& URLEncode(URLRoot() & "db/" &[_DBID_TIME_CARDS] &"?a=td")

The "fid_24" refers to the field ID for the Delete checkbox.
The "[_DBID_TIME_CARDS]" refers to the table alias, which can be found in the advanced settings of the table.

Version with an app token

URLRoot() & "db/" & Dbid() & "?a=API_EditRecord&apptoken=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX&rid=" & [Record ID#] & "&_fid_24=1&rdr="& URLEncode(URLRoot() & "db/" &[_DBID_TIME_CARDS] &"?a=td") 


FROM THE VIDEO: "...When editing an individual record I also have the option to delete. I want to be able to stop that from happening. To do so I'll need to navigate to the application settings. Once here I can open the roles, choose the manager role, and then look at the timecard settings. So here for time cards, I see that the check mark for delete is checked enabling them to delete those time cards. I'm going to want to uncheck that box which should remove their ability to delete. Going back to that time cards table I'll check again as a manager. And now you can see I don't have the ability to select all the records in order to delete them. And when I edit a record I also no longer have the ability to delete. Now that's great, but you might also want to be able to give them the option to at least feel like they're deleting in case there was a mistake..."

Feeling like a Junkie? Subscribe on YouTube now!

I'm always interested in hearing from you about what you're working on and what you would like to learn more about. 
Visit: https://quickbasejunkie.com/p/input

Don't miss the latest:

Tips, shortcuts, checklists, reviews, tutorials, and courses from Quick Base Junkie!

Subscribe now to stay in touch

Don't worry, your information will not be shared.

Subscribe

Already subscribed?

Take your Quick Base skills to the next level with Premium Courses.

Premium Courses
Close

Don't miss the latest:

Tips, shortcuts, checklists, reviews, tutorials, and courses from Quick Base Junkie!

Sign up now to stay in touch